To Ink Or Not To Ink?


A’ryt! For the first place, i have no intention to offend anyone or condemn anyone who had tattooed. I stand to be corrected,anyhow. I am thinking of putting an image this topic but i decided not to in order to avoid negative feedback in case the person who have that tattoo saw this 🙂

I stand not to have tattoo plainly because i just don’t like. Then one of my brother in Christ asked me, “what if  I want bible verses to be tattooed on my body?” That led me in searching the bible about whether God (in Christian viewpoint) really wants us not to have tattoo or it’s optional. Here’s what I’d found:

  • Genesis 4:15b “…then the Lord put a mark on Cain so that no one who found him will kill him.” – God put a “mark” perhaps tattoo o any mark (like something similar to birthmark, i guess), a distinguishing mark on Cain to warn anyone who will attempt to kill him will receive vengeance 7 times. So God put a mark out of murder act of Cain.
  • Leviticus 19:28: “Do not cut your bodies for the dead or put tattoo marks on yourselves. I am the Lord.”
  • 1 Corinthians 8:9: “Be careful, however, that the exercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak.”If we are free to have tattoo, then we have to be careful in doing so not to become stumbling block to the weak especially those who are new in faith.

I appreciate if you share your truth about this. Thank you so much!

What do you think?

