Pie for Everyone


At the end of the day, we all have our fair share. Remember how you approach someone today. Keep in mind how you reacted with flaws and shortcomings of people around you. Did you find time to assure someone that everything will gonna be fine?

We can’t please everyone. Be superkind, and you will experience abuse like never before. Be supermean, and you will count your enemies beyond your fingers and toes! Be neutral, and people will have a doubt whose side are you in. Don’t play safe. You can hurt someone with your actions but if it will contribute to his/her growth then don’t stop. There is no explicit rule on this. Sometimes you have to bend the water, but be careful. Life is like a stage – all eyes are on you.

Don’t be rude. Nobody like that attitude. On communicating with someone, make it a gauge to “understand” him/her. People are angry for no reason? There must be a reason. Family problem, work pressure, health issues (diabetic – i knew people who are irritated when their sugar level spikes up), or simply hungry. Being a professional and kind (live in your trait – kind) individual, you will understand him/her. But never allow insult to pass on your nose without you knowing it. No one have permission to hit you below the belt.

Be careful of a so-called ‘raw nerve’. There are some issues that are significant to others. Some people don’t want to be called “package.” You know when you are describing a person (i.e. “You are beautiful, not just your eyes, but the whole package..). Some don’t want to be disturbed while eating (talkin’ about wild safari where lions don’t want be be disturbed while eating). Rule of the thumb: respect privacy. That’s why it’s PRIVATE, not for you to talk about. Earn trust of people around you and allow them to initiate sharing of their private life to you. Learn to distinguish PRIVATE to PUBLIC. In the CIA, that’s clearly marked: “CLASSIFIED” vs “UNCLASSIFIED”.

That’s why it’s PRIVATE, not for you to talk about.

Working in inter-cultural environment enables me to ‘observe’ and learn how to have my perfect spot. It’s like in first day of school, everyone’s running around, noise everywhere, chaos beyond control. Find your spot where you can’t be a stumbling block to everyone and where you’re not exposed to bullying/challenging. Believe me, even in workplace, people tends to bully you without them thinking they’re bullying you! It’s a matter of blending in. Learn to earn someone’s trust, and never use it in your own advantage. Have pride in yourself by not allowing anyone to backfire to you reminding you of previous favor you’ve availed. Be professional. Smile. No one get hurts in smiling, and it eases the tension. You will be more approachable when you smile. I wonder how people manage to spend their entire day without smiling! Somewhere somehow in their cobwebbed thoughts, there must be funny and exciting event there. I don’t know if you can relate, but there are times when I just smile remembering funny memories. I even got embarrassed for smiling for no reason. Then I casually say to my officemate: “get over it! I’m not smiling at you!” 🙂

…but there are times when I just smile remembering funny memories.

Allow me to share to you these verses from the bible. 2 Timothy 4:7-8 “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.” That explains further my claim that there’s pie for everyone. It’s like you’ll eventually have your own yogurt with the “fruit” you are carrying. Some carries strawberry, they’ll have strawberry-flavored yogurt. Some are carrying grapes, they’ll have grapes-flavored yogurt. Don’t settle for plain yogurt, it’s sour.

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day..”

Today is another day, yet I refused to miss an opportunity to once again thank the Lord for this day. Surely great lessons are yet to learn as new horizons are yet to unfold, yet great things start in a humble beginning. Few lessons on my pockets, few cookies on my jar, eventually I will harvest the fruit of my yogurt 🙂

Don’t settle for plain yogurt, it’s sour

God bless everyone. Always remember: You will have your fair share of pie. (it could be your favorite flavor of pie!)

 ——–

Note:

Diggin’ in my previous post, I almost forgot that i wrote similar post in different perspective. Feel free to look on Pie for Everybody.

What do you think?

