Toys I’d Grown Up With


Super Trump

trump2I learned playing this card with my siblings. They’re older than me so I just sit with them and wait for any of my elder sisters to shout “Super Trump!” and then I fold my card. You will hear various key words like ‘cylinder’ ‘km/hr’ ‘hp’ ‘cc’. This is a very educational card game.

Teks

2wmlxygDuring my childhood days, I can obtain this card by cutting my daily allowance into half. If my mother give me 2pesos, I will set aside 1 peso, and in two (working) days I can buy one pack of teks – approximately 50pcs. per movie – btw, teks are indexed numerically from opening scene in the movie until the end. In today’s standard, it’s an SPOILER, no more, no less. This teks can be traded in numerous games ranging from ‘pitik-bulag’ to ‘touching’ and ‘tao-ibon’. I can tell that I am a reader because I usually read each teks and internalizing it in my memory before I start playing with it. My playmates casually open the package and start gambling with it. Nice trivia!

Tamiya

tamiya-new-balance-574-3I wonder if you guys owned one of these racing ‘matchbox’ back on the days. I love this toy! When you joined the race with other tamiya lovers, you’ll be the ‘talk of the town!’

I like R/C cars, but Tamiya cars excel in its own ways.

NBA Cards

hardwoodleaders01I was in high school when i rode this playing cards’ hype. It’s actually more on showing off your NBA cards collection to your buddies. They also have these and you both are trading off with each other’s cards. During trading, you have to check for the ‘damages’ in each edge and whether there’s fold or hint of wrinkle in the card. The idea is actually helpful in introducing young generation in the business world. Sadly, in my collection, no NBA card survived the test of time.

(Rainbow) Magic Springs

517blZAhZTL._SY355_When I owned this toy, my first thought in mind is to look for stair – the higher the better. Why? because stairs are where this toy works best. You just have to push the upper part of the spring and let gravity do the magic! Alternatively, you can hold both ends in your hands and alternately holding one of your hands above from the other but it’s boring 🙂

Brick Game

39521_20101015155911Who can forget this? It’s a primitive version of Tetris in facebook. I remember how excited I am when I owned this. Looking back, it’s amazing how this black-and-white screen can amuse me.

Connect Four

connect-4There are toys that you have no idea what the name is. Connect Four is among these toys, because I have no idea about it’s name, or I don’t care what the name is. I just love this toy!

MatchBox

81y4Ogmd02L._SX522_I remember I purchased one of these from my rich classmate for 5pesos only, equivalent to two 12oz Coca-Cola softdrink. As my Indian friend says: “See? Clever!” This toy is still existing in the market, as growing up kids are fond of it. I even bought my son one of these!

Holen (Marbles)

holenThe funny thing about this toy, it can be a single-player and multi-player mode. In single player, you can roll the marble everywhere ranging from bilao-go-round to bowling balls. In multi-player mode, all you have to do is to draw a square on the ground and put  yours and your opponent’s marbles inside it and hit as much marbles as you can! When you’re out of luck you will ended up losing your marbles. Another game is digging up holes on the ground by pounding a piece of rock and you will try to roll your marble ala golf. If you hear the term “bombet,” that’s the time somebody’s cheating with stroke in playing with marble. The sad part is, the loser will suffer a painful fillip <pitik.. take note, ginoogle ko pa english nian> using a winner’s marble. Ouch!

Pick-up Sticks

pick-up-sticksIt’s a game of precision. You will gather all the sticks and position it standing in the surface with your grip holding each stick. Then you let go the grip and allow each stick to scatter on the surface. The rule is getting as much stick as possible without causing a slight movement on the piling sticks. Your opponent is watching your every move carefully so there’s no way you can cheat. I have something in my sleeve though, hehe… When i let go of the grip, I will apply a gentle push ang presto! lots of sticks are scattered away from each other. Wisdom.

What do you think?

