Reliving the Ubuntu Experience


image

I just love the concept of Ubuntu – “unity.” If I’ll be an active advocate, I will drag on the street an open-source software. For obvious reason – it’s free 🙂

I’ve been using Ubuntu for quite a long time now. For a power user like me who get easily annoyed by Window’s occassional lag and clutters, Ubuntu, among other open-source Operating System (OS), works like a charm.

Crispy appearance, tweakable settings (those who played with Firefox theme tweaks back in the days can relate), open-source software, robust architecture, minimum hardware requirements, straightforward/intuitive interface – these are what Ubuntu has to offer.

Learning Curve

It’s not easy to embrace new, especially Windows is our comfort zone. My initial Ubuntu experience is somewhat devastating. Acting out of impulse, I wiped out my Windows XP and abruptly installed Ubuntu. Faced with unsupported drivers and unfamiliar environment, frustration followed leading to myself re-installing Windows. Then I abandoned Ubuntu.

A spark of curiosity never leaves me, so I’m ‘trying’ various Linux distribution (appropriately coined “distro” in Linux’ world) via flash drive. The closest resemblance to Windows is the Linux Mint, I enjoyed exploring it.

I’m still familiarizing myself with Ubuntu’s core system – its “kernel.” Linux is popular for bringing the command line to their users. It’ll be a long road to travel getting used to it, but knowing how your OS behaves allow us to modify it’s settings – and mostly can be done in command line. If you’re not into coding, worry not. Every issue in Linux particularly Ubuntu can be addressed in layman’s term. Dedicated communities are working together to improve the OS. They are not employees (who act like dumb robots in customers’ support hotline), but volunteers, common folks just like you and me – they can feel our pains.

Alongside Windows

I’m wiser now. From my experience, I can’t ditch Windows. I’m heavily dependent on MS OneNote, it’s still unbeatable. And being supported in Android makes me stick more with it. All important notes can be sync’ed across multiple device. 

Moreover, games and applications supported only by Windows can’t be ignored. The best option is to install it alongside Windows. Though Ubuntu can conveniently install in usb, you have to go beyond ‘trying’ this Windows alternative. It’s a way of showing reapect to community of developers who work tirelessly, collaborating ideas to arrive in stable Operating System.

Data Back up
It’s my worst nightmare – to lose data. Before making any drastic/critical move, always backup important files. Flash drive sits conveniently in your cupboard. Alternatively, cloud storage do the tricks. Better be paranoid than feeling sorry.

Let me know your thoughts.

What do you think?

