Opera VPN: Because Privacy Matters


I don’t know about you, but I take my privacy seriously. Living in the Middle East subjected my online access into censorship. I don’t mind the government blocking various websites, makes sense to me. My paranoia is, the government must have its way of reviewing my weblog.

It’s like in Will Smith’s “Enemy of the State,” or in tv series “Person of Interest.” The thought of Big Brother watching my move and being able to record all my fingerprints electronically scares me. That’s when Virtual Private Network (VPN) serves me very well.

VPN comes with a price – around US$30/year bundled for up to 3 devices. Go for free version, then you’ll be bombarded with lots of bloatwares (unwanted programs) so annoying that you can trade off your privacy just to uninstall these adwares. Not to mention the time/data limit.

As a promoter of open-source apps, I am delighted to stumble upon Opera VPN. It’s interface is simple, just connect/disconnect. And you can choose which region you want to be identified. I choose United States, as some websites can be accessed only within US. Nohidden catch there, just a small ad banner at the bottom. It’s ok for me that Opera will monitor my activities, so long as I can seclude myself from the outside world.

Tips: go in-cognito mode in Chrome browser. This will not record (apparently) your browsing history. If you’re a tech savvy/enthusiast, you can go to Tor browser. Promoting anonymity, you’ll pass with lot of ports (nodes). This will slow down your browsing speed. That’s fine for me, especially when I’m into online booking, and e-commerce of some sort.

The only trouble I’m experiencing is about external link within facebook. I have to manually copy its address and paste to new tab. Quite annoying at times. I have to disconnect Opera VPN for a while.

This is a goldmine for me. Feel free to test its features, let me know your experience. So far, so good to me.

Freedom! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Opera VPN: Because Privacy Matters

  1. Jai says:

    Pang laptop yung opera vpn? Anong pwedeng gamitin kapag mobile? I heard rumors (I say rumor kasi I don’t know kung totoo) na bawal na raw yung vpn dito sa ME?

    1. Albert Soriano says:

      Yung gamit ko pang mobile – android.

      Hindi ako aware if ibinabawal na sa middle east,chances are kasi sa censorship. You’ll be fine, as long as hindi ka nag aaccess ng prohibited pages 🙂

      *Now ko lang na check..nasa spam folder itong comment mo hehe

      1. Jai says:

        Sa dami nung comment ko last time napunta na yung iba sa spam. Hahaha ganyan din yung ibang comment mo di ba? Anyway.. Maybe when I change my mobile I’ll try vpn. 🙂

What do you think?

