Another Day in the Office


I am starting my day slowly, sipping my hot coffee, checking email… nothing new.

I hate surprises. I was caught off-guard with our client’s requirements that I failed to see! Hairs on the back of my forehead started to rise. I knew it, something’s wrong.

My once slow start accelerated to higher gear. Next thing I know, my coffee gone cold, my lips went dry, my stomach got starved. I died, came back to life because I cannot die this time, then  died again, then resurrected. I cannot pass out not until I submitted our requirements.

I have to wrap up everything and be ready at 5pm, and I have to do everything in my power to make it happen. So I did what the usual sane people would do: I closed my eyes and ran like crazy 🙂

To cut the story short, I arrived at client’s reception desk at around 5:15pm. Pretending I’m not late, I casually approached a receptionist – lovely lady named wynna (don’t know if I spelled it right). I presented my documents while catching my breath. I was motioned to sit down, take some rest, and recollect my sanity hehe.

The receptionist sings. Being an expert in evesdropping, I listened. In the thinnest of tone, I am able to pick up the ‘Jesus’ in the song. She’s a believer (not belieber, grow up!*wink). I’m in the Middle East for so long, but I can’t get enough of excitement whenever I come across with fellow expat sharing the same faith. We have a cool conversation which is the first time today I’ve got one. I’m so focus with my client’s requirements that I moved heaven and earth to make it happen. And such a relief that I felt having accepted by our client. So prior to that, nothing seems to matter.

I’ve got a short webchat with my loving wife and cute son. I may have lack some things, but when I speak to my wife and son, I could not ask God for more. Except food of course, am starved.

Heading back, I’ve waited for my two colleagues who will join me in the car way back home. The thing is, these two gentlemen are so caught up with their conversations, that they did not include me. Rude, so to speak. I just sit silently, saving my english for rainy days hehe. I casually stare my smartphone, reading Robert Ludlum’s  “the bourne.” I have to admit,  I enjoyed reading than watching the actual movie, or listening to the two jerks who put me in an awkard situation haha. OP (out of place).

I went home fulfilled. It’s a challenging, tiring day. I can take rest, but can’t go to sleep. I can’t help but thank God for this day. I’ll be forever grateful.

4 thoughts on “Another Day in the Office

    1. Albert Soriano says:

      *this arrived in my spam 🙂 siguro nauna ung comment kesa sa pag follow 🙂

      Yes, pinay sya. The irony is, i came back last week to submit revised proposal, she casually motioned me: “kuya upo muna kayo.” She didn’t recognized me. Na-“50 first dates.” Haha (check that classic movie)

What do you think?

