Posted in Everyday Living, Polaris' Place of Solitude, Qatar, Reflections

Why is it so tough to move forward?


Lately I’m pondering about this question. Then my mind sails afloat the sea of thoughts. I then find myself trolling around scenarios of “what if?” “why not?” exchange – like a tennis ball. 

Tradeoff is the main factor. If I move forward, I will leave point “A” and embrace point “B.” There’s no turning back, I have to burn the bridge! Lest I might turn to a pillar of salt (inaalat tayo *wink*). I will leave all comforts and perks in point “A,” and start a new adventure. The mere thought thrills me. But sweet journey come with a price, I’m not sure I can afford.

By the way, it’s about leaving my job.

I spoke with my wife about it. She told me that if I’m not happy anymore I can always go home. She added: “God will not forsake us.” Well, that’s comforting πŸ™‚

So I sought my Lord Jesus Christ.. and He led me in 1 Corinthians Chapter 13. Although it’s a popular chapter, it never occurred to me that I’ll meditate on this. Two insights strike me, I’m hoping these can contribute to you guys, especially if you’re in crossroads of decision-making. 

v. 8: Love Never Fails

Why I’m so hesitant to move? Because I’m afraid to fail. Do I still love my job? If so, I’ll never fail. If not, it’s time to move on. That’s the practical approach. 

Subjective/spiritual approach is this: if I put my faith in God, who is love, I shall never fail. 

So long as I have love, I can stand the test of time. (This is the point where I want to scream like Augustus in the movie Gladiator: “are you not entertained?!!”… and by the way I want to face my boss when delivering that – haha). 

v. 11. Think like a man

I’m not referring to a movie with that title, sorry πŸ™‚ 

I have to think maturely. Thinking outside the ‘box’ so to speak. This means putting aside personal feelings, and weigh the situation as logical and objective as possible. No grumbling, grudge or envy. Better to overthink about consequences rather than be surprised with unforeseen exigencies. No room for mistakes here, the price I’ll pay is high enough for me (paraphrased from Karen Carpenter’s i know i need to be in love #credit).

I’m still stuck. 

I want to reflect in v. 12. This is what I’m seeing now..blurry, uncertain. But in God’s perfect time, everything will fall in it’s proper place. This is just a cliffhanger, the end will justify the pain it took to get us there (from Relient K’s song “Let It All Out.”).

Verse I’m clinging onto: Romans 8:28 “…ALL things work TOGETHER for GOOD to them that LOVE God, to them who are called according to His purpose.”

Author:

Feel free to drop PM to starcrossvoyager@gmail.com or in Twitter @bert_sharie

7 thoughts on “Why is it so tough to move forward?

  1. It is because of all the changes involve in the process. We leave our comfort zones, where our habits reside, and start over again. There’s always a price to pay, some cheap, some expensive, and some with interest if we are so lucky enough.

    But we have to rest in thinking that whatever path we choose, God is always with us (Psalm 23).

    1. Amen, Jayson. Very well-said. Yun nga drawback dun, ground zero πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the encouragement. You guys are indeed blessings..I’ll hold on to Psalm 23. Thanks for lightening the load, much appreciated.

What do you think?

