Quest for meaning of life


In my life, choosing a path is the hardest part. Then I live with my choice, whatever the consequence(s) may be. 

It just occurred to me the thought that reflected by the Preacher (King Solomon) – that “life is meaningless.” I can’t agree more. 

I was raised to be educated and find stable job, doubted my mere existence in between. Then I started a family, will retire in the next 20 years perhaps. 

Being aware that I will live for about 40 years more max 50 years, sends thrill to my system. I can go all day narrating how I want my life, the “should have-might have” feeling of regret. What if I’m not leading a life designed for me? 

I took comfort in last verses of Ecclesiastes:

*[[Ecc 12:13]] KJV* Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.

Our duty is to fear God, yet fearing Him doesn’t make much difference. James 2:19 says: ‘even the devil believes God, with trembling.’ Obedience completes our duties before God. We have to keep His commandments.

*[[Ecc 12:14]] KJV* For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil.

Here comes the consequence. God loves you, but being a just God that He is, each action we commit triggers consequence. 

All accomplishments, titles, worries, goals, and wealth will melt away in the beauty of His holines. I remember the post I’d written way back 2011 on my last day on earth, the message remains the same. I guess the realization that stricken me in the face of death will serve as a reminder for me that everything is meaningless when it’s about time to meet your Maker. 

I do have regrets, I’ve seen better days.. yet I’m glad I’m still on the right track. Fearing God and obeying Him will preserve me until I see the Perfect Day.

6 thoughts on “Quest for meaning of life

  1. Let us finish the race! Having the same thoughts lately. That life is just a mist. Short. And what have I done for eternity? For His glory? 🙂

  2. Indeed. Riches, fame, glory are meant to be remembered in our generation til max 3rd generation perhaps. As you said,our existence is like a mist. What God acknowledge/recognize will stay all through eternity. Si God lang kasi ang eternal kaya anything na associated lang sa Kanya ang mananatili.

      1. Thanks..

        Nag e-experiment ako sa ‘portfolio’ feature, kaya lang hindi ko makuha,, hehe..tsaka wala pa ako piece to feature. Itong current theme ay ilan sa mga themes na supported ung portfolio project by default.

    1. I fully agree, made us realize everything we invested our efforts and energies will die with us if not be left behind. It will all makes sense to set our eyes in eternal things 2 Cor. 4:18

What do you think?

